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INTRODUCTION 

Members of the S.C. General 
Assembly asked the Legislative 
Audit Council to review child 
welfare services, procurement, 
and agency management at the 
Department of Social Services. 

Child welfare services focus on 
protecting children under the 
age of 18 from abuse and 
neglect. Examples of these 
services include: 

• Assessment of abuse and 
neglect reports. 

• Family preservation services. 
• Foster care. 
• Alternative care.  
• Adoption. 
• Community based services. 

DSS is based in Columbia with 
5 regional offices and 46 county 
offices. For FY 12-13, the 
department's reported spending 
was approximately: 

CHILD PROTECTIVE SERVICES 
$34.3 million 

FOSTER CARE 
$68.9 million 

ADOPTIONS 
$30.0 million 

Federal funds comprised 
approximately 54% of these 
expenditures. 

MAJOR FINDINGS 

THROUGH ITS CHILD WELFARE SERVICES, DSS HAS THE GOAL OF 

PROTECTING CHILDREN FROM ABUSE AND NEGLECT. AGENCY STAFF 

ARE REQUIRED TO OPERATE IN A COMPLEX, HIGH-STRESS ENVIRONMENT, 
ACCOMPANIED BY POTENTIALLY SEVERE CONSEQUENCES FOR CHILDREN 

WHEN MISTAKES ARE MADE. 

#	 DSS has not ensured that its workforce is well-qualified and 
compensated competitively when compared with similar positions 
in South Carolina and other states. 

#	 South Carolina has child welfare caseloads that are excessive and 
inequitable from county to county. 

#	 There is not an adequate system for screening, investigation, 
treatment, and placement of children in safe homes when abuse 
and neglect are reported. 

#	 Data on child maltreatment deaths, particularly those with prior 
DSS involvement, is not reliable and should not be used as a 
measure of agency performance. 

#	 Not all violent, unexpected, and unexplained child fatalities are 
being reported and reviewed, as required by law. 



 

 

 

  

      

 

      

INADEQUATE QUALIFICATIONS AND COMPENSATION OF COUNTY CHILD WELFARE STAFF 

DSS does not require that new caseworkers have college degrees in social work or a behavioral science, nor does
 
it, as an alternative, require previous relevant experience. As a result, there may be a decreased ability of new
 
caseworkers to effectively assess and respond to child abuse and neglect. The department has unclear policies
 
regarding training and certification for caseworkers after they have been hired. It also does not maintain central
 
records that document whether caseworkers have been trained and certified. 


The salaries of county child welfare employees are not competitive with the salaries paid by other employers,
 
making it more difficult to recruit and retain qualified staff.
 

DSS has publicly reported inaccurate employee turnover data. In addition, the state government information
 
system does not contain the data necessary to accurately calculate employee turnover. LAC calculations show that
 
the DSS caseworker turnover rate over a three-year period from 2011–2013 exceeded 65%. The county director
 
turnover rate over a four-year period from 2011–2014 exceeded 58%. High turnover of county staff reduces the
 
average level of experience, increasing the probability of mistakes.
 

When a caseworker leaves DSS employment, it can take up to nine months to hire and train her replacement. This
 
extended period can increase the caseloads of the remaining workers, reduce the quality of services they provide,
 
and lead to additional resignations.
 

EXCESSIVE CASELOADS 

Until June 2014, the department did not have maximum caseload standards for its caseworkers, which we 
recommended in 1985 and 2006. Although the department recently established caseload standards, it reports not 
having sufficient staff to meet the standards. The following table shows the percentage of county caseworkers 
whose caseloads exceeded the standards recommended by the Child Welfare League of America (CWLA) and the 
new standards developed by DSS. 

Statewide, 19.3% of caseworkers were assigned more than 50 children, 11.3% had more than 60 children, and 
2.8% had more than 75 children. 

MAY 2014 

PERCENTAGE OF 

CASEWORKERS STATEWIDE 

WHOSE CASELOADS EXCEEDED 

CWLA STANDARDS 

PERCENTAGE OF 

CASEWORKERS STATEWIDE 

WHOSE CASELOADS EXCEEDED 

DSS STANDARDS 
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52.7% 27.3% 8.8% 1.8% 57.8% 38.5% 21.9% 11.3% 

Source: LAC based on DSS data 
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INEQUITABLE CASELOADS BETWEEN COUNTIES
 

Caseloads vary significantly between counties, reducing the likelihood of equitable protection of abused and 
neglected children across the state. 

MAY 2014 

COUNTIES WITH THE LOWEST AND HIGHEST 

PERCENTAGES OF CASEWORKERS WHOSE 

CASELOADS EXCEEDED CWLA STANDARDS 

COUNTIES WITH THE LOWEST AND HIGHEST 

PERCENTAGES OF CASEWORKERS WHOSE 

CASELOADS EXCEEDED DSS STANDARDS 

COUNTY POPULATION 

>100,000 
COUNTY POPULATION 

<30,000 
COUNTY POPULATION 

>100,000 
COUNTY POPULATION 

<30,000 

DORCHESTER 

COUNTY 

AIKEN 

COUNTY 

UNION, ABBEVILLE, 
FAIRFIELD, SALUDA, 

BAMBERG, CALHOUN, 
ALLENDALE, MCCORMICK 

COUNTIES 

HAMPTON 

COUNTY 

BEAUFORT 

COUNTY 

AIKEN 

COUNTY 

ABBEVILLE, BAMBERG, 
ALLENDALE, MCCORMICK 

COUNTIES 

HAMPTON 

COUNTY 

40.0% 85.7% 0.0% 66.7% 45.5% 92.9% 0.0% 66.7% 

Source: LAC based on DSS data 

UNRELIABLE CHILD FATALITY STATISTICS FROM DSS 

We found that data provided by DSS to the General Assembly and the public regarding child maltreatment deaths, 
particularly those with prior DSS involvement, is not reliable and should not be used as a measure of agency 
performance. 

The department’s child death statistics are not the result of an exhaustive search for maltreatment deaths and 
include some deaths unrelated to maltreatment. 

INCOMPLETE CHILD FATALITY DATABASE 

State law requires that county coroners report violent, unexpected, and unexplained child fatalities to the 
State Law Enforcement Division (SLED). From 2009 through 2013, however, we identified 152 fatalities in 
those categories that were not in the SLED database. 

INADEQUATE SCREENING OF REPORTS OF ABUSE AND NEGLECT 

When DSS receives reports of child abuse and neglect, they are investigated, screened out, or referred to 
community based prevention services. Currently, DSS screens abuse and neglect in each of South Carolina’s 
46 counties. Central or regional screening could increase the thoroughness and consistency of the process across 
the state. 

Although state law requires that DSS initiate an investigation of child abuse or neglect within 24 hours of 
receiving a report, there is no legal requirement that face-to-face contact be made with the child. In 2013, 
almost one in four children whose abuse or neglect reports were accepted for investigation were not seen by DSS 
within 24 hours. In addition, DSS allows county staff who screen abuse and neglect reports to delay the decision 
on whether to investigate for up to 24 hours after a report is received. Between July 1, 2013 and May 31, 2014, 
the department delayed decisions on 281 reports for more than 24 hours, 80 of which were later accepted for 
investigation by DSS. 
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IMPLEMENTATION OF COMMUNITY BASED PREVENTION SERVICES (CBPS) 

In FY 11-12, DSS implemented a program, in which parents reported to have abused or neglected a child are 
offered community based prevention services when the department determines that an investigation is not 
warranted because there is not “substantial risk” of harm to the child. From FY 10-11 through FY 12-13, the 
number of children receiving CBPS services increased from 0 to 23,198. Although we do not recommend that the 
CBPS program be discontinued, we found that the manner by which DSS has implemented the program has 
caused a significant decline in the number of children included in abuse and neglect investigations and has placed 
them at greater risk. 

When looking at positive effects of the CBPS program, we found evidence that many of the children whose 
families received CBPS services would have been screened out prior to implementation of the program because 
the department deemed them not to be at substantial risk of harm from abuse and neglect. From 
FY 10-11 through FY 12-13, the number of children in abuse and neglect reports that were screened out decreased 
by 10,920 (54.4%). 

We also found significant negative effects of the CBPS program. There is evidence that many of the children 
whose families received CBPS services would have, instead, been included in abuse and neglect investigations 
prior to implementation of the program. From FY 10-11 through FY 12-13, there was a 12,839 (33.7%) decrease 
in the number of children included in child abuse and neglect investigations and a 1,186 (10.4%) decrease in the 
number of children included in founded reports following investigations. The probability that a child in a report of 
abuse or neglect would be included in a DSS investigation declined from 65.5% to 43.9%. And the probability 
that a child listed in a report of abuse or neglect would be included in a founded investigation declined from 
19.5% to 17.7%. 

NUMBER OF CHILDREN IN DSS ABUSE AND NEGLEC

SORTED BY DSS SCREENING DECISION 

T REPORTS 

FISCAL YEAR 
CHANGE 

FROM 

SCREENING DECISION 
08-09 09-10 10-11 11-12 12-13 

FY 10-11 
THROUGH 

FY 12-13 

Screened Out 18,610 
(33.1%) 

19,061 
(32.1%) 

20,080 
(34.5%) 

16,694 
(29.1%) 

9,160 
(15.9%) 

-10,920 
(-54.4%) 

Accepted for Investigation 
by DSS 

37,534 
(66.9%) 

40,378 
(67.9%) 

38,120 
(65.5%) 

34,037 
(59.2%) 

25,281 
(43.9%) 

-12,839 
(-33.7%) 

Sent to Community-Based 
Prevention Services* - - - 6,720 

(11.7%) 
23,198 
(40.2%) 

-

TOTAL CHILDREN 
56,144 59,439 58,200 57,451 57,639 -561 

(-1.0%) 

Founded for 
Abuse/Neglect 

After Investigation 

12,358 
(22.0%) 

11,832 
(19.9%) 

11,372 
(19.5%) 

11,682 
(20.3%) 

10,186 
(17.7%) 

-1,186 
(-10.4%) 

*	 The Community Based Prevention Services Program was implemented statewide on 
June 1, 2012. 

Source: DSS 

Legislative Audit Council 4	 October 2014 



 

  

 

 

 

 

 

      

In addition, from FY 10-11 through FY 12-13, the number of children who became victims of abuse and neglect 
after being screened out or referred to CBPS in the previous 12 months increased from 1,173 to 2,508 (114%). 

NUMBER OF CHILDREN WHO BECAME VICTIMS OF 

ABUSE OR NEGLECT AFTER BEING SCREENED OUT 

OR REFERRED TO CBPS IN THE PREVIOUS 12 MONTHS 

FISCAL YEAR 

VICTIMS 

PREVIOUSLY 

SCREENED OUT 

VICTIMS 

PREVIOUSLY 

REFERRED TO CBPS 
TOTAL 

08-09 1,260 NA 1,260 

09-10 1,398 NA 1,398 

10-11 1,173 NA 1,173 

11-12 1,269 219 1,488 

12-13 702 1,806 2,508 

Source: DSS 

INADEQUATE OVERSIGHT OF CHILDREN PLACED WITH ALTERNATIVE CAREGIVERS 

State law authorizes removal of a child from her home when there is probable cause to believe that the child is in 
imminent and substantial danger from child abuse or neglect. However, the child will be given a significantly 
different level of oversight depending on whether she is placed in a foster home or in “alternative care” with a 
relative or another person. 

FOSTER HOME PLACEMENTS 

State law and DSS provide a structured oversight process when a child believed to be in “imminent and 
substantial danger” is removed from her home and placed in a foster home. 

For example, state law requires a family court hearing within 72 hours after a child is taken into “emergency 
protective custody” to determine whether there was probable cause for the removal. A family court hearing 
regarding the merits of the removal must be held within 35 days of a removal petition from DSS. A guardian ad 
litem is appointed by the court to monitor the case and to advise on what is best for the child, and legal 
representation is appointed for the parent(s) if she cannot afford it. The court also issues an order with a 
“placement plan” setting forth the actions that must occur before the child can be returned home. Under state law, 
violation of a court-ordered placement plan may result in contempt of court charges with sanctions. 

DSS issues licenses to foster homes and reports statewide statistics on the extent of abuse and neglect perpetrated 
by foster parents. 

ALTERNATIVE CAREGIVER PLACEMENTS 

State law and DSS provide only limited oversight when a child believed to be in “imminent and substantial 
danger” is removed from her home and placed in “alternative care” with a relative or other person. 

For example, state law does not require a family court hearing to determine whether there was probable cause to 
remove the child from her home. State law also does not require the appointment of a guardian ad litem for the 
child or legal representation for the parent(s) if she cannot afford it. 
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Instead of a “placement plan” that would be included in an order from a 
family court judge if the child were in a foster home, DSS implements a 
“safety plan” that is not part of a court order and not addressed in state law. 
The safety plan is signed by DSS, the parent(s), the alternative caregiver(s), 
and other relevant persons, who agree to take specific actions to protect the 
child, including restrictions on parental visitation. It expires after a maximum 
of 90 days. Following the expiration of the safety plan, DSS may extend the 
alternative caregiver placement. Violation of a safety plan may result in a 
request by DSS to the court for legal custody of the child and placement of 
the child in a foster home. 

DSS does not maintain a statewide list of alternative caregivers nor of the 
children placed in alternative care. The department also does not report data 
on the extent of abuse and neglect committed by alternative caregivers 
against children placed in their care. 

NON-COMPETITIVE CHILD WEFARE CONTRACTS 

DSS entered into non-competitive contracts of approximately $71 million 
with two state universities. The department also made a non-competitive 
“emergency” procurement of $719,000 that did not meet the definition of an 
emergency under state law. Non-competitive procurement methods: 

# Restrict other qualified providers from offering their services. 
# Reduce the probability that the providers selected are the best 

combination of quality and price. 
# Can create the perception that contract awards are based on favoritism. 

INADEQUATE DATA AND USE OF PERFORMANCE MEASURES 

The department does not routinely collect key categories of performance data 
on a periodic basis. Examples include salaries paid by employers with whom 
the department competes for employees, training and certification records, 
and a central listing of alternative caregivers who care for children removed 
from their homes due to abuse or neglect. In addition, some of the data 
reported by the department is unreliable, such as child abuse and neglect 
deaths and employee turnover. 

DSS has developed multiple measures of child welfare service performance. 
Although these measures can be useful in quantifying underperformance, the 
department has given insufficient attention to determining systems and 
processes that may be root causes of underperformance. Examples of root 
causes could include, but would not be limited to, excessive caseloads, 
inadequate employee qualifications, and inadequate training, as described 
above. Without addressing root causes, the probability of significant 
long-term improvement may be diminished. 

FOR MORE 
INFORMATION 

Our full report, 
including comments from 

relevant agencies, is 
published on the Internet. 

Copies can also be obtained by 
contacting our office. 

LAC.SC.GOV 

SOUTH CAROLINA GENERAL ASSEMBLY 

Legislative Audit Council 
Independence, Reliability, Integrity 

Perry K. Simpson 
Director 

1331 Elmwood Ave., Suite 315 
Columbia, SC 29201 
803.253.7612 (voice) 
803.253.7639 (fax) 




